32 Weeks

Well folks – we did it – 32 weeks – MASSIVE milestone, every day, every hour is literally gravy now.

What about babies born at 32 to 33 weeks gestation?
About 98 percent of babies born at this time survive (13). Most weigh between 3 and 5 pounds and appear thinner than full-term babies. Many need supplemental oxygen to help them breathe, although some can breathe on their own. Some can breast- or bottle-feed, but those who have breathing difficulties probably need tube-feeding. Babies born at this time are less likely than babies born earlier to develop serious disabilities caused by premature birth, though they remain at increased risk for learning and behavioral problems.” (http://www.marchofdimes.com/professionals/14332_1157.asp#head7)
 

We’re in a good place now, and Im not stopping. We have 2 more weeks to go and I’m going to do it no matter what. These babies will be born at 34 weeks.

Our accomplishments  — A little brag time

  1. The average gestation for triplets is 32 weeks, that means by 32 weeks 50% of triplet moms have delivered their babies. I’m still pregnant. My uterus did it – My uterus is 50% better than the rest of the populations uterus. GO uterus GO!
  2. The average triplet weight is 3lbs 12oz, I’ll know forsure tomorrow but I believe as of this week the babes are about 4lbs 5oz
  3. 70% of triplet and higher order multiple moms are put on bedrest … I still went out shopping this morning and Micheal!!
  4. High Blood Pressure, diabetes and Anemia are all very likely in triplet pregnancy – I’m healthier than can be

I’m super proud of myself, my body, my family and my friends – I forget the saying but it sounds similar to this:….it takes … something to raise a something but a community to raise a child. Well this pregnancy has really been like that – I was reading an article in the Cornwall Standard freeholder in which a 19 year old gave birth to triplets, they trio was delivered at 31 weeks but just barely weighed over 2lbs each – scary. But this poor girl apparently had to do everything on her own, and that can’t help the matter. I was so lucky to have so much support and love from everyone and that’s the only way I managed to carry these babes as far as I have, and have had them pack on the pounds to the extent that they have – they will possibly close to 5lbs at birth – IMAGINE! It’s the support of the blogger community, the support of my family, the coming together and help from friends and strangers – and of course my most immediate family Keith and Brad that made this pregnancy so possibly. I’m so fortunate.

A triplet pregnancy isn’t a fun pregnancy, and I would never wish one upon my worst enemie. I never really go to truly enjoy it. But now that we’re in a “safer zone” (you’re never totally safe, even with a full term babes) I am starting to enjoy it a little more. I love watching them move, making them dance and feeling them interact with one an other. Im SO excited to meet them, and I’m so excited to see Bradley in the role of big brother. I’m still a little wee bit worried he’ll feel left out, but Im going to make it work !!

 dpan2120l

Comments
One Response to “32 Weeks”
  1. Kerri-Lyn says:

    So proud of you all! XOXO

Leave a Reply

